The establishment of the School of Continuing Education was proposed by the University Management at its Regular meeting held on 20th May, 2021. The proposal was approved by the Senate of Umaru Musa Yar’adua University, Katsina at its 108th Meeting held on 2nd June 2021.The decision of the Senate was ratified by the University Governing Council at its 47th meeting held on Thursday, 6th January, 2022 in accordance with the provision of Part VI Section 22 (a) & (b) of the University Law.

The University Management had, sequel to the Council approval, constituted a take up committee of Nine (9) and saddled it with the responsibility of running the affairs of the School. The Committee was later metamorphosed into the School Management Committee which was in accordance with the provision of Section 10.1 of the Statute establishing the School with composition as follows:

 Dr. Abdullahi IsyakuBardeDirectorChairman
 Dr. AminuSalisuDeputy DirectorMember
 Dr. Abduljalal Muhammad NasirHOD HumanitiesMember
 Dr. Hassan El-Makki R/dadiHOD Management ScienceMember
 Dr. Jamilu MohammedHOD EducationMember
 Dr. Aliyu IbrahimHOD LawMember
 Dr. Ibrahim Lawal KaneHOD Natural & Applied SciencesMember
 Abdullahi Usman El-MurzuqSchool Finance OfficerMember
 AbubakarTanimuYar’aduaSchool SecretarySecretary


2.1     Objective of the School

The objective of the School is to offer opportunities to all persons for the pursuit of knowledge in education, natural sciences, social sciences, humanities and other spheres of learning on part-time basis; and to develop high approach level manpower to meet the needs of the State and the Nation at large.

2.2     Staffing

The staff of the school are in two (2) categories, the administrative and the teaching staff. Interested teaching staff of the University and other relevant Institutions (with priority given to Katsina State indigenes) were employedas resource personsby the School Management on behalf of the School Governing Boardto teach on part-time basis while the administrative staff are appointed by the University Management as the case may be.


3.1     Programmes Offered

  1. BSc.Ed. Biology             
  2. BSc.Ed. Chemistry                  
  3. BSc.Ed. Economics
  4. BSc.Ed. Geography        
  5. BSc.Ed. Mathematics               
  6. BSc.Ed. Physics
  7. BA.Ed. Arabic                
  8. BA.Ed. English                        
  9. BA.Ed. Hausa
  10. BA.Ed. History      
  11. BA.Ed. Islamic Studies        
  12. BA History
  13. B.Sc. Accounting       
  14. B.Sc. Public Administration

3.2     Students Enrolment

SNProgrammes100 Level200 LevelTotal
iBSc.Ed. Biology6341104
iiBSc.Ed. Chemistry220830
iiiBSc.Ed. Economics180624
ivBSc.Ed. Geography220224
vBSc.Ed. Mathematics080715
viBSc.Ed. Physics070613
viiBA.Ed. Arabic101626
viiiBA.Ed. English101525
ixBA.Ed. Hausa281442
xBA.Ed. History
xiBA.Ed. Islamic Studies183553
xiiB.Sc. Accounting212344
xiiiB.Sc. Public Administration6944113
 Grand Total296217513

3.3     Newly Approved Programmes

The following Programmes were approved by the Nigeria Universities Commission (NUC) to commence with effect from the 2022/2023 admission exercise.

  1. Library and Information Science (BLIS)
  2. BA. Arabic
  3. BA. English
  4. BA. French
  5. BA. Hausa
  6. B.Sc. Economics
  7. B.Sc. Political Science
  8. B.Sc. Sociology

3.4     Duration of Studies

  • Candidates admitted through UTME         -Minimum of 12 and maximum of 18 Contacts

(at 3 contacts per academic session)

  • Candidates admitted through DE               -Minimum of 9 and maximum of 15 Contacts

(at 3 contacts per academic session)


4.1     100 Level Entry Requirements

For admission into 100 Level, candidate should possess a Senior Secondary School Certificate (SSCE; NECO; NABTEB) or its equivalent with a minimum of five (5) credits including Mathematics and English Language obtained in not more than two (2) sittings.

4.2       Direct Entry Candidates

The following candidates shall qualify for Direct Entry into Level 200:

  1. In addition to the above O’level requirements, holders of National Certificate of Education (NCE) with a minimum of nine (9) points or Diploma with a minimum of Lower Credit pass or its equivalent in relevant certificates obtained from recognized institutions;
  2. All applications shall be subjected to a selection process.