Academic Programmes

Umaru Musa Yar’adua University, Katsina commenced academic activities in the 2006/2007 academic session with an initial enrolment of 1,225 students across the 15 different programmes domiciled at the 3 pioneer Faculties of Natural and Applied Sciences, Humanities and Education.

In 2012/2013 academic session, the University introduced 2 new faculties of Law and Social and Management Sciences and, in addition to 9 new academic programmes. These increases resulted in the surge on student’s enrolment of the University. Also in the same year, the University commenced Postgraduate studies in 14 different programmes for the award of PGDE, M.A., M.Ed., M.Sc and PhD.

As at the 2016/2017 academic session, the University’s enrolment profile for undergraduate and postgraduate students stood at 12,672.

Academic Programmes


Faculty of Education

  • B. Sc. (Ed) Sciences (5 programmes)
  • B. Sc. (Ed) Social Sciences (1 programme)
  • B. A. (Ed) Arts (6 programmes)
  • Bachelor of Library and Information Science

Faculty of Humanities

  • B. A. Arabic
  • B. A. English
  • B. A. French
  • B. A. History
  • B. A. Islamic Studies
  • B. A. Hausa

Faculty of Law

  • LLB (Islamic Law)
  • LLB (Public and Private)

Faculty of Natural and Applied Sciences

  • B. Sc. Biochemistry
  • B. Sc. Biology
  • B. Sc. Chemistry
  • B. Sc. Computer Science
  • B. Sc. Geography
  • B. Sc. Industrial Chemistry
  • B. Sc. Mathematics
  • B. Sc. Microbiology
  • B. Sc. Physics

Faculty of Social and Management Sciences

  • B.Sc. Accounting
  • B.Sc. Business Administration
  • B.Sc. Economics
  • B.Sc. Political Science
  • B.Sc. Public Administration
  • B.Sc. Sociology


Faculty of Education

  • Postgraduate Diploma in Education (PGDE)
  • M. Ed. Curriculum and Instructions
  • M. Ed. Educational Psychology
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Information and Records Management (PGDIRM)
  • M.Ed. Educational Management
  • M.Sc. (Ed) Physics
  • M.Sc. (Ed) Mathematics
  • M.Sc. (Ed) Geography
  • M.Sc. (Ed) Chemistry
  • M.Sc. (Ed) Biology

Faculty of Humanities

  • M. A. Arabic
  • Ph.D Arabic
  • M. A. English
  • M. A. History
  • Ph.D History
  • M. A. Islamic Studies
  • Ph.D Islamic Studies
  • M. A. Hausa
  • Ph.D Hausa

Faculty of Natural and Applied Sciences

  • M. Sc. Chemistry
  • M. Sc. Biology
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Resource Management (PGDRD)
  • Masters in Resource Development (MRD)
  • M.Sc. Geography
  • Ph.D Geography
  • M.Sc. Computer Science
  • M.Sc. Mathematics

Programme Development

At the commencement of the academic activities in 2006/07, the University has 3 Faculties, 13 Departments and 26 programmes. In 2012/13 academic session, 9 more undergraduate and 13 postgraduate programmes were established. Between 2013/14 to 2015/16 academic session, additional 10 postgraduate programmes were established. Presently, there are 5 Faculties, 21 Departments, 35 Undergraduate and 23 Postgraduate programmes in the University.

 Programme Accreditation

In 2009, the National Universities Commission visited the University for Programme Accreditation Exercise. During the visit 26 programmes were presented for accreditation in which 16 programmes earned Full accreditation Status, while the remaining 10 earned Interim accreditation Status. In 2011, the NUC re-visited the 10 programmes with interim status for re-accreditation exercise, at the end of the visit; the 10 programmes earned Full accreditation Status of the NUC. In 2015 the NUC re-visited the University for another round of programme accreditation exercise for the 16 programmes with Full accreditation status during the 2009 exercise. Also included for this exercise were the 9 new programmes that were established in 2012/13 session. In total, the University presented 25 programmes during the period under review. The outcome of the NUC visit, all the 25 programmes of the University earned Full accreditation status. Another programmes re-accreditation exercise was conducted by the NUC in 2016 for the 10 programmes with Full accreditation Status as at 2011. The result of the exercise reveals that all the 10 programmes presented earned Full accreditation status.

Presently, all the 35 Undergraduate programmes run by the University have Full accreditation status.


Connect with us