The Department, even though young, has developed a good tradition of excellence over the years since its inception and has been recognized for its excellence in instruction and relevance in community oriented research. With its available facilities and resources, the Department is poised for a leadership position in physics research and education in Nigeria.

 The undergraduate program begins with courses designed to help build a strong foundation in physics. All Courses, at higher level of the undergraduate programme, deepen the understanding of the basics in a progressive manner. The programme culminates into an independent supervised final year project which offers a unique opportunity of choosing from many different environmentally and community related experiments. Students are also encouraged to participate in current research areas of the department such as material science, medical physics, biophysics, renewable energy, e.t.c. The objective is to help prepare our graduates for whatever carrier they might choose later, be it in teaching, industry or graduate studies.

 The academic staff members of the Department conduct research in many and varied areas of interest, such as condensed matter, astrophysics, plasma physics, atomic and nuclear physics, biophysics, material research, Nano science and renewable energy.

Dr. Mahmud Abdulsalam

Head of Department


Brief History of the Department

The Department of Physics is one of the pioneer departments in the University. The Department was established in January 2006 under the Faculty of Natural and Applied Sciences at the takeoff of the University. The department currently offers degree programme (B.Sc. (Hons)) in Physics which commenced right from inception of the University in 2006/2007 session. The Department has so far graduated six set of students in 2009/2010, 2010/2011, 2011/2012 ,2012/2013, 2013/2014 and 2014/2015 sessions and has produced six First-Class students (three of them have  joined the Department), many Second Class Upper, Second Class Lower, 3rd Class and Pass degree students. The Department is planning to introduce new undergraduate programmes and post graduate Programmes in the nearest future. Currently, the Department has a total number of 109 students at undergraduate level, 28 academic staff (21 on tenure, 1 Sabbatical and  7 on visiting), 12 Technical staff, 1 Confidential Secretary and a messenger.


The philosophy of the Department is to train competent physicists, who would measure up with other physicists and scientists elsewhere in the world and who would meet the manpower requirements of the world labor market in such areas where knowledge of physics is relevant.


The objectives are to:

  • Educate and train students having scientific competence

  • Promote excellence in physics research for the advancement of science and technology in Nigeria and other parts of the world.

  • Encourage the application of physics education for human development.

  • Develop competent physics manpower for prompt utilization by the public and private sector all over the world.