Welcome Address

It is my pleasure to welcome you to Umaru Musa Yar’adua University, Katsina and the Department of Economics. The department offers a programme leading to the award of degree of Bachelors of Science (Economics).

The staff of this department will ever be ready to assist and guide you towards a pleasant and fulfilling academic life in the University.


The Department of Economics is one of the pioneer departments in the Faculty of Humanities of this University which was established in 2007. The Department started with Mal. Muhammad Yusuf as pioneer Head. He was succeeded by Dr. Dalhatu Galadanchi then on sabbatical from Bayero University in January, 2009. Mal. Mukhtari briefly acted as the HOD until in November, 2010 when Dr. Bilyaminu Idris Kadandani took over the department.

The department started with 11 academic staff and 5 visiting lecturers. The rate at which the Department is growing in manpower is interesting because many staff in the Department are currently enjoying Post-graduate study fellowship in various Nigerian and foreign universities.



To train graduates of economics who will be well equipped with modern tools of economic analysis to meet the ever growing demand of experts in various fields of national and international economies in areas such as development, industry, energy, international trade banking and finance to make them ready to assimilate the modern technological advancement to make life better for the people. In line with the University’s mission, the training will be geared towards producing self employable, marketable, self-sustaining and self reliant individuals with great entrepreneurial skills.


  1. To develop and improve students’ understanding of the economic problems at various stages of national development.
  2. To provide necessary training and exposure for economics graduates well qualified to use modern tools of economic analysis suited for employment in diverse areas of applications;
  3. To develop student’s critical judgment with the bid to contribute to national developments;
  4. To produce graduates that are well equipped to handle issues related to wealth creation and entrepreneurship;
  5. To produce graduates that are suitable for employment in diverse areas such as Banking, Tax administration, Budget and Planning, International Trade, Human resource management, Financial Planning etc
  6. To Provide an appropriate environment that will enable students develop their creativity and promote the spirit of economic self-reliance;
  7. To create an atmosphere for desirable behavioral changes that will help students to develop values that are in consonance with the national objectives such as hard work, probity, commitment, patriotism and discipline;
  8. To prepare the graduates with a sound background required for any responsible profession, administration and social undertakings particularly as per the expectations of local and national economy;
  9. To provide broad and balanced foundation of economic knowledge and practical skills for graduates with high intellectual abilities required for successful pursuance of postgraduate studies in any of the specialized fields of economics.


1 Prof. Chika Umar Aliyu Professor M Ph. D. Economics Visiting
Dr. Bilyaminu I. Kadandani Reader M Ph.D. Economics Vising
2 Dr. Mustapha Mukhtar Reader M PhD Economics Visiting
3 Dr. Abubakar Abdullahi Sokoto Reader M Ph.D Economics Visiting
4 Dr. Mohamed Ahmed Bakori Reader M Ph.D. Agric Econs Visiting
5 Dr. Yusuf Mohammed Senior Lecturer M Ph.D Management Tenure
6 Dr. Amina A. isma'il Senior Lecturer F Ph.D. Economics Sabbatical
7 Dr. Yusuf Umar Dantama Senior Lecturer M PhD Economics Visiting
8 Bashir Umar Faruk Lecturer I M M. Sc Economics Tenure
9 Salimatu Rufa’I Lecturer II F M.Sc Economics Tenure
10 Dr. Musa Kabir Alhaji Lecturer II M Ph.D. Economics Tenure
11 Murtala Abdu Kwara Lecturer ll M B.Sc Economics Tenure
12 Salele Iro Lectuer II M MSc. Economics Contract
13 Gazali Ibrahim Assistant Lecturer M M.Sc Economics Tenure
14 Ahmed Adamu Assistant Lecturer M M.Sc Oil and Gas Economics Tenure
15 Dr. Abubakar Abdulsalam Lecturer ll M Ph.D. Economics Tenure
16 Umar Aliyu Abubakar Assistant Lecturer M M.Sc. Economics Tenure
17 Ahmed Halliru Malumfashi Assistant Lecturer M M.Sc Economics Tenure
18 Faisal Muhammed Dikko Assistant Lecturer M M.Sc Energy Economics Tenure
19 Ahmad Garba Khaleel Assistant Lecturer M M.Sc Economics Tenure
20 Asma'u Abdullahi Assistant Lecturer F B.Sc Economics Tenure
21 Sa'adatu Abba Assistant Lecturer F B.A Economics Tenure
22 Suleiman Lawal Gambo Graduate Assistant M B.Sc Economics Tenure
23 Muaz Muhammad Lawal Graduate Assistant M B.Sc Economics Tenure