Following the need for graduates of geography in the state to fill the various related fields in its Ministries and Parastatals, the Department was created right from the inception of the Umaru Musa Yar’adua University, Katsina (formerly Katsina State University) in the year 2006. It was initially located in the Faculty of Humanities but was transferred to Faculty of Natural and Applied Sciences in the year 2007.

The Department was established to offer single honours Degree in geography   (B.Sc Geography) and as a teaching subject for education students (B.Sc Ed. Geography). As at the 2012/2013 Academic session, the Department has introduced Postgraduate Programmes; PGD, MRD, M.Sc. and Ph.D Geography.

Twenty Seven (27) Academic staff are currently employed to run the academic activities of the Department. Malam Lawal Abdurrasheed (BSc., MSc, Ph.D) was the pioneered Head of Department; currently the Department is headed by Dr. Ibrahim Hamisu

In addition to the courses offered, the Department also has a strong objective in boosting research and development to meet the persistent challenges of managing the dynamic environment.


The Department of Geography Katsina State University aims and gears its programmes towards producing graduates in scientific geography and the application of scientific method, technique and knowledge of geography in tackling environmental, planning and development problems in Nigeria. Based on this philosophy, the main objectives of the programmes are as follows:

  • To maximise benefits and minimise costs and damages to human behaviour in relation to the prevailing environment.
  • To conduct research, describe, explain, predict and where possible control human behaviour and or the physical socio – cultural environment.
  • To help students understand the problems of their social and physical environments.
  • To develop critical judgment which will enable them to be creative and self reliant in making rational and objective choices and in contributing to issues relating to their communities
  • To develop student intellectual ability for the successful pursuit of their postgraduate studies


1 Dr. Hamisu Ibrahim Lecturer I/HOD M PhD Geomorphology Tenure
2 Professor Julius Afolabi Falola Professor M Phd Rural Policy & Plan. Visiting
3 Professor Godwin N. Nsofor Professor M Ph.D. Geography Visiting
4 Dr. Ibrahim Y. El-ladan Senior Lecturer M Ph. D. Geography Tenure
5 Dr. Abdu Yaro Senior Lecturer M Ph.D Envr. Resources Planning Tenure
6 Dr. Ibrahim Baba Yakubu Reader M Ph. D Geography Visiting
7 Dr. Salisu Muhammad Senior Lecturer M Ph.D. Geography Visiting
8 Dr. Mansir Bako Matazu Senior Lecturer M Ph.D. Geography Visiting
9 Dr. Abdulkadir Muhammad Reader M Ph.D. Geography Visiting
10 Nuraddin Maiwada Lecturer I M M.Sc Land Resources Tenure
11 Dr. Lawal Abdulrashid Senior Lecturer M Ph.D. Envr. Resources Tenure
12 Dr. Haruna Saleh Lecturer I M Ph.D. Phys. Geography Tenure
13 Dr. Murtala Mohammed Ruma Lecturer I M Ph.D Phys. Geography Tenure
14 Dr. Mukhtar Kabir Usman Lectuer II M Ph.D. Built. Env. Tenure
15 Bello Mumin Olalekan Lecturer II M M. Sc. Geography Tenure
16 Abubakar Yakubu Kazaure Lecturer II M M. A. Population Studies Tenure
17 Hafiz Darda’u Lecturer II M M.Sc Land Resources Dev. Tenure
18 Kabir Idris Lecturer II M M.Sc Env.Res.& Planning Tenure
19 Abubakar Umar Lecturer II M M.Sc Geography Tenure
20 Saminu Umar Daura Lecturer II M M. Sc. Land Resources Dev. Tenure
21 Hashidu Usman Saddiq Lecturer II M B.Sc Geography, M.Tech Met. Tenure
22 Amina Ibrahim Inkani Lecturer II F Ph.D. Env.Res.& Planning Tenure
23 Yahaya Zayyana Ibrahim Lecturer II M M.Sc Land Resources Tenure
24 Yahaya Sani Assistant Lecturer M M.Sc. Environmental Mgt. Tenure
25 Abdulmalik Maiwada S. Graduate Assistant M M.Sc Geography Tenure
26 Mudassir Hassan Graduate Assistant M B.Sc. Geography Tenure
27 Khadijah Abdullahi Graduate Assistant F B.Sc. Geography Tenure