Umaru Musa Yar’adua University came into existence in December 2006. The Department of Education started as one of the component departments which constitute the Faculty of Education.

The Department started with Mal. Ma’aruf Nuhu Batagarawa as the pioneer head until October 2008 when Professor Kabiru Isiyaku assumed duty on Secondment from Bayero University, Kano and took over as the head. In September 2009 Dr Mani Ahmed became the Head of the Department. Subsequently in October, 2011, Professor C. C. Okam took over from Dr. Mani Ahmad up to date.

The Department of Education has the requisite number of academic staff. It is the responsibility of these lecturers to design and implement curriculum programmes that will lead to award of degrees, especially Bachelor of Education B.A. (Ed) and B.Sc (Ed) degrees which will essentially be based on academic structures of 3 years and 4 years respectively. Thus, B.Sc is offered in the following: subject areas: Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics, Economics and Geography while B.A. (Ed) is offered in Arabic, English, French, Hausa, History, and Islamic Studies.



The Philosophy of the B.A.(Ed) and B.Sc (Ed) Programmes is to train art and science teachers that will be equipped to handle all subject areas and other related education issues such as curriculum, guidance and counseling, special education and educational administration. Graduates of the programmes will be fully equipped with skills in tune with the modern trends in the educational enterprise. In line with the University’s mission, the training is geared towards producing all round teachers that are self-sustaining, self-reliant and innovative.


The objectives of the programmes are to:

  1. Produce capable and qualified teachers for various levels of education across all the subject areas for the State, Country and World at large;
  2. Provide broad and balanced foundation of knowledge, skills and attitudes for development of the teaching profession;
  3. Provide necessary training and exposure for graduates capable of handling issues related to special education, guidance and counseling, educational administration, etc in education and other related sectors;
  4. Provide a suitable avenue for continuing education for teachers that require re-training in the teaching profession through both the conventional and distance learning modes;


1 Dr. Sani Abdu Fari Lecturer II/Dean M BLS, M.Sc, Ph.D. LIS Tenure
1 Dr. Yahaya Aliyu Sa'idu Senior Lect /HOD M Ph. D Educ. Admin & Planning Tenure
2 Prof. Clement C. Okam Professor M Ph.D Curriculum Contract
3 Prof. Musa Balarabe Professor M Ph.D Ed. Psychology Visiting
4 Prof. Y. K. Kajuru Professor M Ph.D. Math Education Sabbatica;
5 Prof. Tijjani Abdullahi A. Professor M Ph.D. Special Education Visiting
6 Dr. Mani Ahmad Reader M Ph. D Education Tenure
7 Dr. Mamman Musa Reader M Ph.D. Math Education Visiting
8 Dr. Ja'afaru Ahmadu Jibia Senior Lecturer M Ph.D Education Contract
9 Dr. Mannir Adamu Rawayau Senior Lecturer M PhD Educ. Psychology Contract
10 Dr. Danbaba Abdullahi Senior Lecturer M Ph. D Education Visiting
11 Dr. Binta Ado Ali Senior Lecturer F PhD Guid. & Counseling. Visiting
12 Dr. Lawal Halilu Senior Lecturer M PhD Education Visiting
13 Dr. Talatu Ibrahim Umar Lecturer I M PhD Guid. & Counseling. Tenure
14 Shehu Lawal Yar'adua Lecturer I M M. A. Hausa,PGD E Visiting
15 Dr. Tukur Usman Lecturer I M Ph.D Curriculum Visiting
16 Dr. Sabiru Dahiru Yusuf Senior Lecturer M Ph D. Science Education Visiting
17 Zulaihat Lawal Bagiwa Lecturer II F Ph.D. (Admin/Plan.) Tenure
18 Maimuna Suleiman Isah Lecturer II F M.Ed Special Education Tenure
19 Ma'aruf Nuhu Batagarawa Lecturer II M M. Ed. Guid. & Counseling Tenure
20 Mansur Haruna Assistant Lecturer M M.Ed Educational Psychology Tenure
21 Jamilu Mohammed Lecturer ll M M.Ed Maths Edu Tenure
22 Aminu Salisu Assistant Lecturer M M.Ed Science Education Tenure
23 Hadiza Shehu Korau Assistant Lecturer F M.Ed Educational Psychology Tenure
24 Aliyu Kasim Assistant Lecturer M M. Sc Ed. Biology Tenure
25 Ibrahim Muhammad Graduate Assistant M B.A. Ed English Tenure
26 Fatima Atiku Graduate Assistant F BS.c Ed Education Tenure
27 Murja Lawal Musa Graduate Assistant F B.Sc Ed. Biology Tenure
28 Abdullahi Adamu Graduate Assistant M B.Sc Ed. Maths Tenure
29 Abdullahi Bala Husaini Graduate Assistant M B.Ed. History Tenure
30 Abdulkareem Munir Graduate Assistant M B.Sc Ed Physics Tenure
31 Abubakar Sani Assistant Lecturer M M. Ed. Education Tenure
32 Badamasi Shehu Graduate Assistant M B.A. Ed Hausa Tenure
33 Nura Halilu Audio Visual Tech M Diploma Tenure
34 Rabi'u Yusuf Yar'adua Confidential Secretary I M ND, HND Secretarial Studies Tenure
35 Ibrahim Hassan Mobil Office Assistant II M S.S.C.E. Tenure